The Importance of a Morning Routine

Cody McLain
26 min readFeb 19, 2019

There are two types of people in the world: those who wake up ready to take on the world, and the rest of us who would rather take on our alarm clocks. Do you wake up feeling energetic and excited about the day ahead, or do you wish you could just go back to sleep for the rest of the day? Mornings are difficult for many people, but handling them effectively can be crucial to getting your day started right. Good morning routines can create a bedrock of stability in your life, which is vital no matter who you are or what you are up against.

Some days I wake up tired and depressed. Some days end and I feel like I didn’t accomplish what I hoped to do. Some days end up being great, and some of them leave me feeling stuck, but either way, I always end the day feeling content, knowing that I followed my morning routine

When I started my first business, I would start my day with a sugary bowl of cereal, an hour of tv watching, and then it was off to work until I fell into bed (with some fast food for lunch and dinner thrown in). I would repeat this routine every day.

Unsurprisingly, I started to wake up tired, lacking the energy or will to work as hard as I wanted. Finding that I had become a workaholic and a victim of chronic burnout I was only able to will myself to work because I’d have no income otherwise.

Neglecting my mind, body and soul was having a long-term negative effect on my business and life as a whole. Since then I’ve come to understand the importance of setting a…

--

--

Cody McLain

Founder of $12m SupportNinja, Author of From Foster Care to Millionaire book, Host of MindHack.com Podcast